Week 6 Workbook Activity – Similarities and differences between impromptu and formal speech

Hi Everyone!

Below is a video recording of my impromptu speech regarding the similarities and differences between impromptu and formal speech, enjoy!

Review on delivery and timing

I have to admit I spent ages record this impromptu speech a couple of time I couldn’t get it right. The final product isn’t great; however, I believe it is the best I can do until I practice my technique a bit more. It terms of my delivery I tried to focus on my voice, tone, emphasis and pace; however, as you can see at times I was more focused on trying to remember what to talk about which resulted in poor delivery. The time in which the speech was delivered was 2.25 minutes. I believe it took this long because I paused after nearly every sentence trying to remember what to say. If some of these pauses were excluded and other decreased in time then I believe I could have fit within the 1-2 minute mark. I have had experience in impromptu speeches in the past; however, I have never had to perform one in front of the camera. Overall, I believe that my technique and learning to feel confident and less nervous when speaking on camera is something I definitely have to work on.

Leave a Reply

