Week 5 Workbook Activity – Notice Talk

I have to admit until enrolling in this course I had never really listened to my own voice, critiqued my voice, practiced speech techniques or considered how I spoke with anyone else around me. In terms of how I speak with people around me, after some thought, I identified that I speak differently around two distinctive groups of people and that is new people (who I don’t know) and old/ existing people (who I have known for some time). Below is an outline, in detail, of how I greet these groups, say goodbye, deal with uncomfortable moments and how I transition a close with these groups.

New employee

GREETI always start with the usual, ‘Hello, how are you? It’s a pleasure to meet you.’ After they respond to the question I then continue to say… ‘Where have you worked previously and what is it that made you come work for Gladstone Regional Council?’ I say this to all new employees that I am introduced to. I have always been exposed to these types of greeting, or similar, when starting a new job so I just think it’s appropriate and professional to greet a new employee that way.

GOODBYE – Most of the time I say, ‘Well it was lovely meeting you and I am sure I will see you around the organisation sometime. Enjoy your time at Council.’

UNCOMFORTALE MOMENTS – Usually, when meeting new employees, there is always predictable silence that fills the room. When this happens I tend to sign off and say goodbye. This is because I always find that new employee, just like myself when I started, are shy and reluctant to talk as it is very overwhelming meeting so many new people during the day.

HUMOUR – It is very unlikely that I would use humour to transition or close the conversation with a new employee. This is because I don’t know the person at all therefore I am not sure what they find amusing and what they find offensive. Therefore I wait until I have had more interactions with them and get to know their so called ‘humour boundaries’ before transition or closing a conversation with humour.

New friend

GREET – When introduced to a friend’s friend I always keep it short and simple. I tend to wait for their reply in order to further with the conversation. I don’t want to bombard them with questions such as, ‘how are you?’ ‘where do you work?’ and so on.

GOODBYE – I always determine my closing statement by the way the initial conversation went. If there were moments of silence and awkwardness, I  say, ‘Well it was nice to meet you and I am sure I will see you around seeming you are good friends with Nikki’. After a few more encounters with this person I become more relaxed and conversation becomes more fluent therefore I will usually close the conversation with, ‘Well it was nice seeing you again and if you’re free this weekend the girls and I are getting together and going out for dinner if you would like to come along?’

UNCOMFORTABLE MOMENTS – Just like a new employee, if the is many silent moments or the conversation is not going any I will usually just close the coversation. If I were to be completely honest, sometimes I even find myself telling a little white lie. Usually the new people who I get introduced to are my friends’ friend’s; therefore, I don’t want them to get the idea that I was rude to them and didn’t want to speak. So I may say ‘I’m really sorry but I have an appointment in 10 minutes.’ or ‘I am expecting a phone call soon which I really need to take.’

HUMOUR – Again just like a new employee, I need to learn their ‘humour boundaries’ before I can close a conversation with humour. Once I have learnt these boundaries and we have more regular encounters I fell more comfortable to attempt to close or transition a conversation with humour.

Existing employee

GREET– This is a very different situation then how I would greet new employees. I always greet employees I work with very casually as I fell comfortable around them and have worked with them for some time. Therefore, I will generally say, ‘Hi Sarah, how was your weekend,?’ ‘Did you get up to much?’ Or if it was during a weekend day I will come to work and say, ‘Hello Sarah, how was training last night?’ or ‘After attempting that dinner idea, how did it turn out?’ I greet my work colleagues this way because it is a very relaxed work atmosphere and I find when people are ‘formal’ when speaking to each other the conversation is very short and goes nowhere. However, when greeting the CEO and elected members it’s very different. Usually many I say ‘Good Morning Councillor Sellers’ and sometimes I will add on ‘How was your weekend?’

GOODBYE – Again, when saying goodbye to work colleagues it is vey casual. Sometimes I see some work colleagues on the weekend therefore I will say ‘Goodbye everyone have a good weekend, see you on Saturday Sarah’ or sometimes if I know someone is doing something on the weekend I will say ‘Have a good weekend Sarah and make sure you enjoy your lunch on Saturday’. Again, when saying goodbye to the CEO and elected members it’s very very different. Usually I say ‘Good afternoon Councillor Sellers, have a good weekend.’

UNCOMFORTALE MOMENTS – It is very rare that conversation between myself and my work collogues get to the point where there us uncomfortable moments but I’d imagine if ever did happen I would say something humorous or just simply change the subject.

HUMOUR – I always use humour with my work colleagues. Depending on the day, I will use humour in most situations because it lightens up everyone’s moods. Just like a new employee, I have to learn my work colleagues ‘humor boundaries’. Since doing so, humour has become a regular occurrence within the office. Many times, whether the discussion is important or not, either I or someone within the office will transition the discussion with humour.

Existing Friends

GREET – Most of the time my friends and I go a week or two without catching up because everyone is so busy with work, study and family commitments therefore when we do see each other its great! I usually bombard my friends with a huge greeting filled with lots of questions, for example,’Hey Nikki, how have you been?’ ‘What have you been up to?’ ‘How is work and study going?’ I always find when they answer the set of questions they end their reply with ‘What about you?’ And the conversation continues.

GOODBYE – My goodbye’s with friends always initiate another catch up. It doesn’t matter what the conversation is about I will always say ‘It was so lovely to catch I’m glad you are doing great both with work and university. How about we do dinner next time your free?’ or coffee, or some retail therapy or dinner….I do this because I fell very comfortable with my friends and if I don’t initiative the next catch up they always do.

UNCOMFORTABLE MOMENTS –  I hardly experience uncomfortable moments with my friends because I find that our conversation is just continuous and even when it seems like we have run out of things to talk about something else always pops up. I do imagine if it ever did happen that we would either just laugh it off, continue to talk about something else or I would initiate the end of the conversation by saying ‘Well it was lovely catching up we have to do it again sometime very soon.’

HUMOUR– I always use humour with my friends, it makes the conversation more interesting and funny. As I have known my friends since primary school or many years I am familiar with their ‘humour boundaries’, sometimes when jokes don’t tend to go my way I usually laugh at them so it doesn’t get awkward (: There is nothing worse then an incredibly boring conversation. Most of the time it is me that uses humour to transition into another conversation. I find that when I say something humorous, my friends will laugh and then when the laughing ceases another conversation starts up.

Leave a Reply

