Week 4 Workbook Activity – Reflect upon your news reading

Firstly, I would just like to say how good it is when you listen to the second recording and hear evident differences to the first. I know I was very pleased to hear some improvements.

The first difference I noticed was the clearer projection of my voice. This was achieved by correcting my posture1. I made sure my diaphragm was free on any pressure by sitting up straight. I also placed my new script straight up in front of me so that my voice was projected straight ahead instead of down into the microphone. This allowed the volume of my voice to be at a suitable level and made my breathing pattern less evident.

In regards to my tone, I listened to the feedback given by Kate and highlighted every five words of my news script. When reading I tried placing some emphasis on the highlighted words to ensure that my tone wasn’t flat throughout the entire reading. It is going to a lot more practice but I believe that I did a good job in trying to vary my tone and pitch.

In terms of nerves, I can honestly say I was quiet nervous when recording my first news release. I believe it was due to the fact it was only a voice recording which was quiet daunting as I had never critiqued my voice. I recorded the first reading close to thirty times as my nerves made me jumble words and sentences and also caused me to get flustered very quickly. The second recording, however, only took 3 prior recordings until I hit the jackpot! This was achieved by calming my nerves just simply taking deep breathes and having a glass of water before I start talking2.

I also noticed that there was a time difference between the two recordings. The first recording went for 2.38 sec as the pace of my voice was quite fast. This contributed to the reading being hard to follow as words were not articulated correctly and pauses in-between pars were not long enough. The second recording went for 2.56 sec due to the fact that I slowed my reading pace down and focused on articulating my words and also proving a generous pause when needed.

Taking this time also allowed me to concentrate on my breathing patterns3. In recording one I would drop of at the end of sentences and phrases which sounded as though I was running out of breathe. Slowing down my pace allowed me to breathe regularly throughout the sentence which meant I could keep my finishes bold and precise.

Although I have seen improvements I still believe I have a long way to go before I sound like a professional. As they say ‘practice makes perfect’ I will continue to practice each week by utilising each new technique I learn!

1Kate, Ames 2012, COMM12033 Speech Communication: study guide, CQUniversity, Gladstone.
2Ibid.
3Ibid.

Reference

Ames, Kate, 2012, COMM12033 Speech Communication: study guide, CQUniversity, Gladstone.

Leave a Reply

